No Label
Teatro Verdi - Muggia Italy 11-16-91
Il Castello - Rome Italy 11-19-91
Total CD Time 67:48 / 21 Tracks
Matrix: HEAD 5
Additional Artwork
49 Digital Nirvana members are listed as owning this disc.
28 Digital Nirvana members are listed as wanting this disc.

1) Drain You 4:04
2) Aneurysm 4:30
3) School 2:52
4) Floyd The Barber 2:21
5) Smells Like Teen Spirit 4:42
6) About A Girl 2:48
7) Polly 2:46
8) Lithium 4:25
9) Breed 3:20
10) Sliver 2:11
11) In Bloom 4:32
12) Been A Son 2:14
13) Negative Creep 2:34
14) On A Plain 3:06
15) Blew 3:25
16) Talk To Me 3:14
17) Oh, The Guilt 3:19
18) Territorial Pissings 2:30
19) Come As You Are 3:25
20) Rape Me 2:52
21) Spank Thru 2:28

Nirvana Bootography Rating: A  96%

Nirvana Bootography Review:
Downtrodden was released in April, 2000 and contains the complete 11/16/91performance. This performance was first released on the scarce and long out-of-print Europe 1991. Downtrodden is not a clone of Europe 1991 (different track times), but appears to be identical in sound quality. The rumor is that someone associated with the Post Script label (the label that released Europe 1991) sent a taper to record this concert, which is why the recording appeared on CD before it ever entered trading circles. There are three bonus tracks from 11/19/91 that do not appear on Europe 1991.

The 11/16/91 performance is spectacular and features the rarities "Talk To Me" and "Oh The Guilt." The band sounds like they were having a good time, and there's a lot of energy... which is probably why they played these two rare songs at the end. Kurt teases the crowd that is singing along on "Sliver," changing the lyrics to "nya nya nya nya...". Mostly because of the two rarities and the decent sound quality of the show, I would recommend this disc. Be warned that this is an audience recording, and gets a little muddy at the end. Audience recordings aren't for everyone but you won't find a setlist like this for any other date.

The artwork and appearance of the disc are a little strange. The disc itself has the same picture that can be found on Leer. The front of the cover has the tracklisting and looks like it belongs as the back cover. The back cover looks like it was originally meant to be the front cover but no title was ever placed on it. The back and inside of the inlay are the same as the inside of Outcesticide IV's inlay. The matrix of the disc makes no reference to any Nirvana label that I know of.

If you're one of the many people who were never fortunate enough to find Europe 1991 then picking up Downtrodden is an excellent disc to add to your collection. Unless you have something against audience recordings, this is a show everyone should listen to at least once.

Submit a review! - You must register first ( DN Forum registration and Nirvana Bootography registration are one in the same)

"Oh, The Guilt" Labeled As "Oh, My Guilt"

Other Disc(s) Containing These Dates:
Teatro Verdi - Muggia Italy 11-16-91
   Europe 1991
   Europe 1991

Il Castello - Rome Italy 11-19-91
   Negative Creep
   On A Plain
   Seattle Sound, Sounds Great
    Smells Like Punk Spirit
   Live Vol.2
   Seventh Heaven

7685 hits since 9/6/2000

Bootography Main   |  Digital Nirvana Main   |  Digital Nirvana Forums
All Nirvana Discs  [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]  |   Scanned Nirvana Discs   [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]
Nirvana Discs By Date  |  Scanned Nirvana Discs By Grade    |    Scanned Nirvana Discs By Label

Images and information on this site are Copyright © 1998-2002 Nirvana Bootography and may not be reused or reprinted without permission.
Most images in the Nirvana Bootography are derived from scans of unofficial Nirvana titles. The Nirvana Bootography does not claim ownership of the images depicted in/on these unofficial Nirvana releases, only the scanned images of the given unofficial release.

Valid HTML 4.01!