Outcesticide V - Disintegration

Blue Moon Records (BMCD98)
Compilation / Various
KAOS Olympia Community Radio - Olympia, WA United States 04-17-87
MTV Studios - New York, NY United States 01-10-92
Total CD Time 71:46 / 22 Tracks
Matrix: BMCD 98
Additional Artwork
224 Digital Nirvana members are listed as owning this disc.
56 Digital Nirvana members are listed as wanting this disc.

1) Asking For It 4:28
2) Love Buzz 3:30
3) Verse Chorus Verse 3:14
4) Lithium 4:07
5) Rape Me 2:27
6) On A Plain 2:46
7) Stain 2:23
8) School 2:50
9) Molly's Lips 1:58
10) Aneurysm 4:37
11) Love Buzz 3:53
12) Floyd The Barber 2:43
13) Downer 2:29
14) Mexican Seafood 2:54
15) White Lace And Strange 2:39
16) Spank Thru 3:26
17) Suicide Samurai 3:32
18) Hairspray Queen 4:58
19) Pen Cap Chew 4:13
20) More Than A Feeling 0:56
21) My Best Friends Girl 2:24
22) You Know You're Right 5:07
Outcesticide V - Disintegration

Nirvana Bootography Rating: A  98%
Average Reader Rating: 93%
Reader Reviews

Nirvana Bootography Review:
This is an excellent compilation disc that is equal in quality to the previous four, It first appeared in late 1998. The majority of the tracks are unreleased on other commercial bootlegs and the sound quality is superb. It might disappoint some that many tape traders already have these recordings. Blue Moon has a reputation as a pioneer in releasing unsurfaced Nirvana recordings... Blue Moon released many of them to the public first, and later reissued their discs when better quality versions surfaced. As Internet tape trading has increased in popularity, it has become difficult (if not impossible) for Blue Moon to pull out the "surprises." Uncirculated recordings spread much more quickly now than in the past. You will find a description of each track below.

1. Live Through This
The first thing a listener will hear when playing this disc is a loud "pop". Blue Moon has likely "borrowed" the Courtney Love demo from the Love Buzz CD. The Love Buzz version has a radio DJ who talks over the first few seconds of the song. Blue Moon has edited the first few seconds out and quickly fades into the song. For whatever reason, the "pop" noise was left in. This demo has Kurt on the backing vocals. The sound is FM broadcast quality.

2. Love Buzz This track is from the VPRO Hilversum radio session on 11/5/89. You can find "Dive" and "About a Girl" from this session on Outcesticide III. This track is unique to Outcesticide V.

3. Verse Chorus Verse (aka "In His Hands")
From the sound check 8/17/90. This is an upgrade from the recording found on Outcesticide II. This recording is probably borrowed from the Love Buzz CD also. Excellent stereo sound.. by far the best surfaced recording of this song.

4. Lithium
5. Rape Me

These tracks are from the 2/9/94 show in Spain. These were the only two songs broadcasted and unavailable on any other commercial bootleg.

6. On A Plain
7. Stain
Tracks six and seven are the sound check to the MTV studios broadcast on 1/10/92. Sombody in the band snorts to the beat of "Sifting" before they start.

8. School
9. Molly's Lips
10. Aneurysm

Tracks eight, nine and ten are the unbroadcast songs from the MTV studios broadcast on 1/10/92. Excellent sound quality. These tracks are unavailable on any other commercial bootleg CD.

11. Love Buzz
12. Floyd The Barber
13. Downer
14. Mexican Seafood
15. White Lace and Strange
16. Spank Thru
17. Suicide Samurai
18. Hairspray Queen
19. Pen Cap Chew

Tracks eleven through nineteen are definitely the highlight of the disc. The source is apparently the same as the one tape traders have been circulating.... it garbles a little during the "scream" in Spank Thru. The difference is that these tracks have been remastered... the majority of the hiss is gone and the noise level has been increased. While it's nothing revolutionary, these tracks are a little crisper than other KAOS versions I have heard. Surprisingly, Suicide Samurai (aka Anorexorcist) might be the best sounding track from the KAOS demos. Love buzz is very early for the band and Kurt repeats the first line twice during the beginning of the song. There appears to be a little editing between some of the tracks, but nothing "important" is missing.

20. More Than A Feeling Jam
21. My Best Friends Girl
Tracks twenty and twenty-one are two clips, from 8/30/92 and 3/1/94. The sound quality is quite good. I wonder if Blue Moon has access to the rest of 3/1/94???

22. You've Got No Right (aka Autopilot) This track can be found in the Season in Hell box set and Sermon on the Mount. The quality of this track appears to be a little better than those two sources. It's a nice addition that most discs neglect.

All of the recordings are of the highest quality. This compilation CD won't overlap any compilation discs you already have, so it should fit nicely into most any collection.

Submit a review! - You must register first ( DN Forum registration and Nirvana Bootography registration are one in the same)

"You Know You're Right" Labeled As "Autopilot"
"Verse Chorus Verse" Labeled As "In His Hands"

Other Disc(s) Containing These Dates:
KAOS Olympia Community Radio - Olympia, WA United States 04-17-87
   Ultra Rare Trax Vol 3
   First Live Show
   17 Nussbaum Road, 1st Experience

MTV Studios - New York, NY United States 01-10-92
   A Higher State Of Mind

55035 hits since 9/3/2000

Bootography Main   |  Digital Nirvana Main   |  Digital Nirvana Forums
All Nirvana Discs  [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]  |   Scanned Nirvana Discs   [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]
Nirvana Discs By Date  |  Scanned Nirvana Discs By Grade    |    Scanned Nirvana Discs By Label

Images and information on this site are Copyright © 1998-2002 Nirvana Bootography and may not be reused or reprinted without permission.
Most images in the Nirvana Bootography are derived from scans of unofficial Nirvana titles. The Nirvana Bootography does not claim ownership of the images depicted in/on these unofficial Nirvana releases, only the scanned images of the given unofficial release.

Valid HTML 4.01!