Had It All

Madman (Madman 41)
The Palace (Rock For Choice Benefit) - Hollywood, CA United States 10-25-91
Total CD Time 62:36 / 18 Tracks
Matrix: MM 41
Additional Artwork
36 Digital Nirvana members are listed as owning this disc.
39 Digital Nirvana members are listed as wanting this disc.

1) Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam 2:52
2) Aneurysm 4:53
3) Drain You 3:46
4) School 2:30
5) Floyd The Barber 4:30
6) Smells Like Teen Spirit 5:16
7) About A Girl 2:47
8) Polly 2:49
9) Breed 3:10
10) Sliver 1:57
11) Love Buzz 3:47
12) Lithium 4:30
13) Been A Son 2:10
14) On A Plain 3:07
15) Negative Creep 3:40
16) Blew 4:49
17) Rape Me 3:11
18) Territorial Pissings 2:31
Had It All

Nirvana Bootography Rating: A  94%

Nirvana Bootography Review:
This is a good performance from 1991 to own. The recording is very clear and it sounds like someone set up some professional recording gear somewhere away from the crowd to capture this show. There is too much reverb (echo) being used during the show because it almost sounds like the band is playing in a large cave. At one point Dave is talking to the audience and the echo goes away... so it's not the venue's acoustics... it's definitely the reverb settings (the guitar distortion is above normal as well).

This date was a "Rock for Choice" (keep abortion legal) show. The first thing you hear is Kurt saying to the audience "Keep your f***ing laws off my sister's body!"... and of course the crowd goes nuts. There is a little editing during the disc, but Madman (the disc label) did manage to keep several of Krist's speeches.... he finally gets to vent his political views to the crowd. He even allows two people from the audience speak their mind, one of which just screams into the mic "Nirvana F***ing RIPS!!", which I'm sure isn't what Krist had in mind.

The show loses some momentum due to Krist's little soliloquies, but is still very solid. This is definitely NOT the bands best performance because there are a lot of blown parts, especially "Drain You". "Rape Me" is a nice touch to finish things off.

Overall, this is an above average, though unspectacular disc. Shows from 1991 are nice to have, so it's worthwhile to pick "Had it All" up if you get the chance.

Submit a review! - You must register first ( DN Forum registration and Nirvana Bootography registration are one in the same)

"Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam" Labeled As "Jesus Doesn't Want Me"
"Aneurysm" Labeled As "Come On Over"

8149 hits since 9/3/2000

Bootography Main   |  Digital Nirvana Main   |  Digital Nirvana Forums
All Nirvana Discs  [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]  |   Scanned Nirvana Discs   [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]
Nirvana Discs By Date  |  Scanned Nirvana Discs By Grade    |    Scanned Nirvana Discs By Label

Images and information on this site are Copyright © 1998-2002 Nirvana Bootography and may not be reused or reprinted without permission.
Most images in the Nirvana Bootography are derived from scans of unofficial Nirvana titles. The Nirvana Bootography does not claim ownership of the images depicted in/on these unofficial Nirvana releases, only the scanned images of the given unofficial release.

Valid HTML 4.01!