Flogging A Dead Angel

Hawk (HAWK067)
Stabler Arena, Lehigh University - Bethlehem, PA United States 11-09-93
Total CD Time 79:03 / 22 Tracks
Matrix: HAWK 067
Additional Artwork
18 Digital Nirvana members are listed as owning this disc.
22 Digital Nirvana members are listed as wanting this disc.

1) Drain You 4:03
2) Breed 3:07
3) Serve The Servants 3:29
4) About A Girl 3:04
5) Heart-Shaped Box 4:49
6) Sliver 2:29
7) Dumb 2:37
8) Come As You Are 3:35
9) Lithium 4:33
10) Pennyroyal Tea 3:31
11) School 2:42
12) Polly 3:16
13) Milk It 3:50
14) Rape Me 2:45
15) Territorial Pissings 2:11
16) Smells Like Teen Spirit 5:12
17) All Apologies 3:22
18) Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam 4:20
19) In Bloom 4:30
20) On A Plain 3:12
21) Scentless Apprentice 3:41
22) Blew 4:22
Flogging A Dead Angel

Nirvana Bootography Rating: A  92%

Nirvana Bootography Review:
This show can be found on three commercially available bootlegs. This version is missing the first track (Radio Friendly Unit Shifter), which is on the Legacy of Noise disc containing this show (Legacy of Noise is shorter and missing the LAST two tracks). At a whopping 79+ minutes in length, you can't ask for much more. The track listing on the inlay skips the first track and begins with "Breed," thus throwing off the entire listing by one song (don't you hate it when that happens?).

Unfortunately, this disc has a few problems early on. "Drain You" gets VERY quiet at points... apparently the taper is trying to get better position. Tracks 1 and 2 have some "drop out" where the sound is briefly interrupted. "About A Girl" is the worst... it gets pretty messed up in a couple of places. Heat-Shaped Box is completely ruined for the first minute of the song... the left channel anyway. The right channel is fine. It's somewhat surprising that these errors are found on a Hawk disc... while they aren't the most spectacular and innovative label, collectors can usually feel confident when buying their discs because they put out good stuff.

Despite these problems, the sound for the disc is pretty good. A paragraph describing disc defects is enough to scare most folks away, but all is not ruined. The rest of the show is a fantastic "In Utero" performance captured with a crisp, clear digital recording. Territorial Pissings, School, and Milk It are the highlights as the band is in great form and Kurt sings with power.

It's a toss-up whether a collector should opt for this version or "Legacy of Noise." "Nevermind the Bollocks!" contains the complete recording, but is spread over two discs and might not be worth the extra expense. This disc is probably better for a more experienced collector, but most Nirvana fans will enjoy it for the power the band puts into their performance.

Submit a review! - You must register first ( DN Forum registration and Nirvana Bootography registration are one in the same)

Other Disc(s) Containing This Date:
Stabler Arena, Lehigh University - Bethlehem, PA United States 11-09-93
   Legacy Of Noise
   Nevermind The Bollocks!

5236 hits since 9/3/2000

Bootography Main   |  Digital Nirvana Main   |  Digital Nirvana Forums
All Nirvana Discs  [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]  |   Scanned Nirvana Discs   [ A-J]  [ K-R]  [ S-Z]
Nirvana Discs By Date  |  Scanned Nirvana Discs By Grade    |    Scanned Nirvana Discs By Label

Images and information on this site are Copyright © 1998-2002 Nirvana Bootography and may not be reused or reprinted without permission.
Most images in the Nirvana Bootography are derived from scans of unofficial Nirvana titles. The Nirvana Bootography does not claim ownership of the images depicted in/on these unofficial Nirvana releases, only the scanned images of the given unofficial release.

Valid HTML 4.01!