Come As You Are: The Story Of Nirvana
Images  ·  Submit Info  
a u t h o r   Michael Azerrad
p u b l i s h e r   Doubleday
i s b n   0385471998
f o r m a t   Book (paperback)
p a g e s   (see notes)
s i z e   6" x 9"
d a t e   1993.10.??, 1994

u s e r   r a t i n g s
  Ratings are based on a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the highest.  Voice your opinion by filling out a survey.

o v e r a l l   7.9   (4 votes)
i n f o   8.5
a c c u r a c y   8.0
p h o t o s   6.5
r e c o m m e n d e d   8.8

a v a i l a b i l i t y
  Buy at Amazon

c r e d i t s
  Cover photograph by Michael Lavine
Cover design by Marysarah Quinn
Printed in U.S.A.

n o t e s
  The original version was published in 1993 and has 344 pages.  After Cobain's death in 1994 another version was published.  These copies are easily identified by a graphic at the top of the book's front cover noting that an extra chapter was added.  A total of 358 pages are in the second version.  Both versions have discographies for the United States and United Kingdom.

r e v i e w s
"The book was published several years ago, but because Azerrad was given intimate access to the band members, it's still the best source of printed Nirvana information.  Over the years, though, some inaccuracies have surfaced.  The main reason for this is that the band (especially Kurt, Courtney, and perhaps their management) saw this as an opportunity to rebuild their image which was being savaged in the media at the time.  Even so, this should be the first book you read about Nirvana."

"It is important to accept that while CAYA was the first major source of Nirvana information, it is extremely flawed; Azzerad's blind acceptance of interviews as fact was extremely irresponsible -- it is almost impossible for one to give an accurate picture of his or her own life -- and anything in CAYA must be taken with some amount of salt.

"That said, CAYA & HTH are pretty much must-reads for the Nirvana fan, as long as he or she watches what he or she digests as fact."

Ben Dweck

s o u r c e s
  Cory Brookshire, Nick Hegarty, Chris Lawrence


Digital Nirvana