LIVE NIRVANA Concert Chronology November 22, 1989 - U4, Vienna, AT

  • Band project name
    • Kurt Cobain (vocals, guitar)
    • Krist Novoselic (bass, vocals)
    • Chad Channing (drums)
  • Tad Doyle (guitar)
  • Edwin Heath (tour manager)
  • Craig Montgomery (sound engineer)
  • Karin Löffler
Load In
TAD Showtime
NIRVANA Showtime
  1. No Info
  1. School
  2. Scoff
  3. Love Buzz
  4. Floyd The Barber
  5. Dive
  6. BREAK
  7. About A Girl
  8. Spank Thru
  9. Big Cheese
  10. Sappy
  11. Breed
  12. Been A Son
  13. Negative Creep
  14. Blew
  15. ENCORE
  16. Vendetagainst Doyle on guitar
AUD #1
Unknown > Unknown
Lowest Generation:
Length / Sound Quality:
61 min / 8.5
• Circulated in March 2013.
• It has a 5-second dropout in the right channel during 'Spank Thru' and 'Negative Creep' cuts in due to a tape flip.
SBD #1a
Soundboard > Unknown
Lowest Generation:
FM > CDR(1) > FLAC
Length / Sound Quality:
49 min / 9.5
• Lower quality and Post-FM soundboard source that was broadcasted by the radio (aired 09/24/01) and recorded directly to WAV from the radio and then transferred to CDR.
• This source includes Cobain's opening banter about his guitar and his screaming intro, which is missing from SBD #1b.
• Whilst this source is technically complete, containing all the songs and the opening banter/screams, there has been considerable editing between the tracks, cutting out band banter/noises between virtually every song.
• Also unfortunately this radio broadcast was in mono.
SBD #1b incomplete
Soundboard > Unknown
Lowest Generation:
Unofficial CD [Smells Like Nirvana] > FLAC
Length / Sound Quality:
57:40 min / 10
• Higher quality and Pre-FM soundboard source.
• Missing Cobain's opening dialogue about his guitar, the screaming intro, the very first song ("School") and some announcer banter after "Blew" about T-shirts being on sale.
• All other songs and between-song banter are present.
AMT #1

The venue usually video taped shows there, so Nirvana's set may have been taped.

  • Krist got involved with a bunch of drunks in the audience who were disrespecting women, prompting him to give a long speech about how he is a girl and a brief attempt at singing The Who's "I'm A Boy."
  • Tad Doyle played guitar on "Vendetagainst", the song was normally played without guitar.
  • No Info
Handbill/Flyer, designed by unknown Handwritten setlist Advert Nirvana's tour itinerary Nirvana's tour itinerary Nirvana's tour itinerary Advert Advert Handbill/Flyer, designed by unknown
Photo by Karin Löffler Photo by Karin Löffler Photo by Karin Löffler Photo by Václav Matěj Photo by Václav Matěj Photo by A. Kremer